Welcome to Myzel!

Myzel is an online community game. (In fact, the game is named after mycelium, the root growth of mushrooms and fungi).

Myzel is no ordinary game. The rules of the game are created by the players themselves. Players define what is allowed and what isn't and see firsthand the complex interconnections of economy, politics, and society.

Myzel is not a commercial product, and has been largely supported through public funding. A shortage of funding has meant that many of the planned features (for example, the 3D user interace) have not become available and that the project is in hibernation.

Nevertheless, a game world is available with all the important features in place, so anyone interested can register and download the client and have a look around the Myzel world, which at peak times has been populated by hundreds of users.

Have fun!


German site

great thanxs to siobhan for the translation work

Willkommen bei myzel!

myzel ist ein online-community game (benannt nach dem Wurzelgeflecht der Pilze), in dem SpielerInnen nach ihrem Gutdünken Gesellschaftssysteme simulieren können. Das besondere dabei: die Regeln sind von den UserInnen selbst festlegbar.

myzel ist kein kommerzielles Produkt, sondern wurde weitgehend durch Sponsoring und Unterstützung der öffentlichen Hand finanziert. Wegen mangelnder finanzieller Mittel konnten viele der geplanten Features (wie z.B. die 3D-Benutzeroberfläche) nicht realisiert werden. Zur Zeit befindet sich das Projekt aus den genannten Gründen in einem Winterschlaf.

Nichtdestotrotz steht eine Spielwelt mit allen wichtigen Features zur Verfügung; Interessierte können sich also nach Anmeldung und Download des Clients in der Welt von myzel umsehen, die zu Spitzenzeiten von hunderten von Usern bevölkert war.
Viel Spaß!

English Version