Hol dir den myzel-Client! Wie funktionierts? Hintergrundinfos zum Projekt Die üblichen Verdächtigen... Meldungen und Meinungen
Press materials

Myzel. Build your own universe.

Online gamers are summoned to an internet-wide game testing. Virtual communities constantly re-define the rules of the game.

Vienna. At Vienna Technical University’s Institute of Applied Information Technology the Myzel project is ushering in a new generation of simulation games. At the same time the website at www.myzel.org offers a community platform with previously undreamt of possibilities.

Enthusiasm for the game is spreading like wildfire. But the appeal of the game must be maintained if people are to keep on coming back. So new versions of the game will continue to be produced, each more exciting, more varied and more complex than the one before. This presents challenges in the field of graphics as well as in the design of the game and the way in which it unfolds.

An ambitious game project is now planning to outdo everything that has been achieved to date by internet-based simulation games. Myzel has been developed by the backbone.interactive group under the leadership of the university lecturer Dr. Wolfgang Hofkirchner. What makes it special is the fact that the design of the game allows the players a free hand in drawing up the rules.

To help turn the ambitious idea into reality, the developers of Myzel have now set up a special on-line community. From 19th November 2000 enthusiastic on-line gamers will have the opportunity to experiment with Myzel and see how well it works. This will make it possible for the process of the game to be critically examined, as well as technical bugs and the rules of play.

The weapon of the third millennium is information. Instead of becoming embroiled in military conflicts, people now find their lives threatened by media conspiracies. What are the real goals of ambitious politicians, what machinations are the suppliers of our universally important energy getting involved in, and what is on the secret agenda of the media tycoons? The media create the reality in which politics, society and the economy struggle to survive.

The particular attraction of Myzel is that the framework of this struggle for survival is constantly being re-created and re-defined by the players. It is the game community itself which decides whether the universe needs to be freed from the clutches of a hated tyrant, or whether the best possible way of running a society will be found.

In the Myzel virtual community the test players have access to a user-friendly client where all interactions take place and which is connected to the server. The server contains both the system data and the rule interpreter. Myzel thus consists of a server, a linked client and a community website.

When the virtual community has been established and test players have completed the phase of public testing, the implementation process will be brought to a close with the game being available in September 2001 in three-dimensional virtual reality.

The Myzel project is sponsored by the National Ministry for Education, Science and Culture.

Further information:

Peter Judmaier
backbone.interactive
c/o Institut für Gestaltungs- und Wirkungsforschung
TU Wien
p.judmaier@myzel.org
Telephone: +43 (1) 58801-18735

http://www.myzel.org



The press article to download:
.doc file (32 KB)
.rtf file (11 KB)

The idea of the game to download:
.doc file (24 KB)
.rtf file (4 KB)

The introduction by Professor Peter Fleissner to download:
.doc file (13 KB)
.rtf file (5 KB)

All text as zip archive:
myzel.zip (20 KB)

Screenshots:

Anmeldung zur myzel-Community Hol dir den myzel-Client! Wie funktionierts? Hintergrundinfos zum Projekt Die üblichen Verdächtigen... Meldungen und Meinungen
Pressematerialien

Pressetext:

Myzel. Build your own universe.

Online-Spieler zum internetweiten Game-Testing aufgerufen. Virtual Communities legen Spielregeln immer wieder neu fest.

Wien. An der TU Wien, Institut für Gestaltungs- und Wirkungsforschung, wird mit dem Projekt Myzel eine neue Generation für Simulationsspiele im Internet eingeleitet. Gleichzeitig soll Myzel unter www.myzel.org eine Community-Plattform mit bisher ungeahnten Möglichkeiten bieten.

Das Gamefieber grassiert aller Orten. Doch um die Lust am Spiel aufrecht zu erhalten, muß der Spiel-Anreiz erhalten bleiben. So werden immer wieder neue Versionen von Spielen erstellt, die rasanter, abwechslungsreicher und komplexer werden. Dies bedeutet eine Herausforderung an die Grafik ebenso wie an Spielkonzept und Spielabläufe.

Ein ambitioniertes Spielprojekt soll nun alles bisher Dagewesene auf dem Sektor der Simulationsspiele im Internet übertreffen. Die Gruppe backbone.interactive hat unter der Leitung von Univ.Doz. Dr. Wolfgang Hofkirchner Myzel entwickelt. Das Besondere dabei: Das Konzept sieht die freie Gestaltung der Spielregeln durch die Spieler vor.

Um die ehrgeizige Spielidee auch wirklich umsetzen zu können, haben die Entwickler von Myzel nun eine eigene Community ins Netz gerufen. Unter www.myzel.org haben leidenschaftliche Online-Spieler die Gelegenheit, ab 19. November 2000 das Spielkonzept von Myzel auf seine Spieltauglichkeit zu prüfen. Da können Spielablaufe genauso unter die Tester-Lupe genommen werden wie technische Bugs und Spielregeln.

Die Waffe des 3.Jahrtausends ist Information. Menschen werden nicht mehr in kriegerische Auseinandersetzungen verwickelt, sondern über Medienkomplotte in ihrer Existenz bedroht. Was sind die wahren Ziele des aufstrebenden Politikers, welche Machenschaften verfolgen die Händler, mit der für alle so lebenswichtigen Energie, und was sind die geheimen Interessen der Medientycoone? Die Medien schaffen jene Realität, in der Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft ums Überleben kämpfen.

Der Rahmen für diesen Überlebenskampf wird von den Spielern immer wieder neu und selbst bestimmt, was den besonderen Reiz von Myzel ausmacht. Ob das Universum von einem verhaßten Tyrannen befreit werden muß, oder die beste aller möglichen Gesellschaftsformen gefunden wird, entscheidet allein die Game-Community.

In der virtuellen Community von Myzel steht den Testspielern ein benutzerfreundlicher Client, in dem alle Interaktionen vorgenommen werden und der mit dem Server verbunden ist, zur Verfügung. Der Server wird einerseits die Daten des Systems und andererseits den Regelinterpreter beinhalten. Somit besteht Myzel aus einem Server, einem dazugehörigen Client und einer Community-Web-Site.

Nach der Etablierung der virtuellen Community Myzel soll der öffentlichen Testphase duch die Test-Spieler der Abschluß der Implementierung folgen und das Spiel im September 2001 in einer dreidimensionalen Virtual Reality zur Verfügung stehen.

Das Projekt Myzel wird vom Bundesministerium für Bildung, Wissenschaft und Kultur unterstützt.


Weitere Informationen:

Peter Judmaier
backbone.interactive
c/o Institut für Gestaltungs- und Wirkungsforschung
TU Wien
p.judmaier@myzel.org
58801-18735

http://www.myzel.org
Der Pressetext zum Download:
doc-Datei (32 kb)
rtf-Datei (11 kb)

Das Konzept des Spiels zum Download:
doc-Datei (24 KB)
rtf-Datei (5 KB)

Das Vorwort von Prof. Peter Fleissner zum Download:
doc-Datei (13 KB)
rtf-Datei (5 KB)

Alle Texte als Zip-Archiv:
myzel.zip (20 KB)


Screenshots: